Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First dawless gear: M:C or Digitakt/Digitone ?
Staff
First dawless gear: M:C or Digitakt/Digitone ?

A bit of background.

I’m kinda new in electronic music production, even if I’m not a newbie about music and synthesis theory. I also played a bit in Ableton Live and a lot with Pocket Operators (the KO! and the Arcade).

As I feel so lost on the Ableton Live’s blank page, and as I loved playing with my standalone Pocket Operators (linked to synths on my iPhone), I’m thinking of buying a gear to jam with, standalone for know (or if possible maybe with my POs) then later maybe I’ll invest in another gear if I like playing music that way.

After watching A LOT of videos about grooveboxes and dawless gears (M:C, M:S, Digitakt, Digitone, Novation Circuit, Roland 101, Korg Electribes, OP-1, OP-Z...) I finally found that I’m very interested in Elektron stuff, in term of workflow, features and design, and especially the Model:Cycles and the Digitakt.

Now I’m really hesitating : should I start gently and buy a Model:Cycle that I know well now after I watched ALL the YouTube videos about it and maybe I’ll feel limited or bored quickly, or crack the wallet for a Digitakt and maybe be able to learn it and jam with it during years ? I know, that’s very different gears.