Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Modular, anxiety, perfectionism and the joy of letting go
Staff
Modular, anxiety, perfectionism and the joy of letting go

A couple months in my modular journey, I have some thoughts to share on the matter. This won't be a post about the way I use certain gear to make music, but more about the way certain gear helps me get in a good disposition to make music. I can understand how that wouldn't be some people's cup of tea.

A little bit about me before getting into the subject. I am a 30 year old teacher and I have been making music since I was 4. I've gone through a lot of styles, doing classical flute as a child to rock guitar in my teens, to jazz guitar in my 20's and weird synth music today. I am definitely privileged in the fact I have a good job that allows me to afford gear. That being said, the main thing holding me back in music all my life has been perfectionism. I always have a clear idea in my head of what I would like to make, yet the act of practicing to get there paralyses me with anxiety. I have used various coping mechanisms throughout the years, trying to learn new theory or buy new gear to bypass my problems, but in the end I usually gave up for a little while and switched to something new. Once again, I felt competent in the beginning, but once I failed to reach the idea I had in mind, I would get too anxious and take avoid it for a while. This phenomenon doesn't only happen in the context of making music. I used to draw a lot as a child and would face the same problems and writing my master's thesis is a real chore because I can stare blankly at a page as the fear of failure slowly creeps in.