Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
MPC One as the 'heart' of a hybrid setup?
Staff
MPC One as the 'heart' of a hybrid setup?

I'm relatively new to music production, and I'm in the middle of planning out my first 'serious' (in dollar terms) purchase after getting into the hardware world over the last seven months or so. I started off with a Volca FM, and have since added an Elektron Model Samples and NTS-1 (which I absolutely love!). I have my eye on a Minibrute 2s/Behringer Neutron in the future, but increasingly I've realised that I want to think about a 'brain' for the setup which can serve as a point of cohesion to take things beyond 'making cool sounds and sequences'.

I have Ableton lite which came with my minilab, and I've recently spent a lot more time getting deeper with Ableton through the 90 day trial of 11 Suite - after the frustrating initial process, I can now see how incredibly powerful it is and I'll be buying Standard when the trial expires. Sketching out in session view and bumping to arrangement helped me so much in taking things from cool sounds to actual tracks. Because of this I'm pretty convinced that a dawless setup won't be for me: I need the visual immediacy because otherwise I feel too cluttered.