Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
GAS and the curious case of the MPC (+ Modal Argon8)
Staff

The Final Setup?

Hi all, so been lurking around these parts for what must be over a year now... Always had an interest in music but never really spent much time on the making end of it. Spending lots of time on sound setups, sure, amp & speaker audionaut, yes, but making, not so much.

Sure, played electric guitar when I was a teenager and was into that for a little bit but never seriously. Most recently, bought a uke to play blind when I had laser eye surgery, so became OK with that over a few weeks, but keys & synths was something else entirely.

So march on to the pandemic and I decide I wanted to learn synths and keys. So it all began, the usual story said here many a time over.

I'm a tech enthusiast so turning things over on eBay and such is never a worry for me, excellent rating, not much of a problem for me to buy secondhand and sell on a few weeks later for a little gain / loss. Only sell on Ebay selling offer fees which come around often for me.

So over the last 14 months I tried to gather as much as I could on the whole synth and music noodling thing I could, resulting in, purchasing and selling (sometimes multiple times) of these bits of kit.

Started it with:

Volca Bass, loved that thing, great filter on it it, really nice, especially for the price

Then...

Korg Monologue - Great device, needs FX, didn't know what I was doing... Wanted something that could do everything

Novation Circuit - Really got me into the whole concept of groovebox

Korg Electribe 2 - Wanted something with more bones and this had it, bit slow on the whole process though

TE PO-33 - Awesome pocket thing, loved it, wanted to move on to bigger things though

Arturia Microfreak - Great value - but keys could be a bit finicky sometimes and needed FX to sound good, but I was on a march now...