Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
What’s the best way to set up multiple hardware synths with USB?
#1
What’s the best way to set up multiple hardware synths with USB?

Sorry if this is a noob question and not on the right day!

I’ve got 2 Roland Boutiques and an MS-20 Mini I want to connect to an iMac, plus a midi keyboard - so 4 USB ports used up.

Also running a Focusrite audio interface, so that’s all 5 ports used.

Is there a better way to connect multiple midi devices through USB? I’m reluctant to use MIDI in/outs for syncing everything, when I can just just use one USB cable per Boutique.

Can you run MIDI through USB into a USB hub? Does it need to be a powered hub? Should I give up on USB and give in to having a cobweb of MIDI, audio, and power cables?

submitted by /u/WHAAAAAAAM
[link] [comments]
Reply


Forum Jump:

[-]
Private Messages
Please login or register to use this functionality.

[-]
Who's Online
There are currently no members online.

[-]
Latest Threads
Pursuing Karplus-Strong
Last Post: SynthWizard
Yesterday 03:40 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 3
Universal Audio’s Luna 1.1.8 can “transf...
Last Post: SynthWizard
Yesterday 03:40 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 3
Looking for Internship
Last Post: SynthWizard
Yesterday 03:40 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 5
What is the meaning of colons that appea...
Last Post: SynthWizard
Yesterday 03:40 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 5
Volca Sample Vs Novation Circuit - for m...
Last Post: SynthWizard
Yesterday 03:40 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 4
PRS Archon amplifier returns in 50-Watt ...
Last Post: SynthWizard
Yesterday 03:40 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 4
Leak: Apple M2 rainbow coloured MacBook ...
Last Post: SynthWizard
Yesterday 03:40 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 4
Spitfire Symphony Orchestra goes Pro
Last Post: SynthWizard
Yesterday 03:40 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 3
Orchestral Tools launch Tallinn
Last Post: SynthWizard
Yesterday 03:40 PM
» Replies: 0
» Views: 5